Long time no post…

.. and so much has happened.  Firstly I now have a swish new laptop in which to write these random posts and so hopefully will be more frequent.  I can’t beliee that I started this blog to keep a note of Jessica’s life and yet I’ve not posted about some of the biggest milestones.  So here goes..

Her mobility – not only is she still commando crawling at a spectacular speed but last Sunday she decided that she would climb, get to stand and them walk along the sofa.  This is her newest thing – no more being on the ground, if there is something she can climb up on, she will.  I’m glad i use cloth nappies as she has a soft landing on the few occasions she,s had falling back on her bottom.  She has an inquiring mind and loves to explore the tiniest wee nooks and crannies and if involves climbing over a seat or box or leg or cabinet then all the better. 🙂

Her first tooth!!! It came through exactly a week ago.  She slept LOADS.  no screaming for hours or very grumpy, just slept for 13 hours at night and a mammoth 3.5 hour nap in the day.  Here it is, the bottom right hand side.  

first tooth

Eating – Jess is a monster with food.  She loves fruit and vegetables and sweet things and well everything I’ve offered her. 🙂  I haven’t actually pureed anything for her in about 3 weeks now, and for the past two weeks she has for the most part fed herself.  There are still some things we spoon feed, such as breakfast and mac cheese and soup.  Although the does always like to have something to feed herself too, even if its a chopped baby tomato or slice of cheese or fruit.  Her favorite food at the moment appears to be plums and pears and satsumas.   I sometimes think she could happily eat nothing but plums.  All of these are eaten raw just chopped up into small handy sizes for her.  She can also happily eat cold sandwiches, so far we have had jam and dairylea.  I love this stage of weaning.  She is kinda independent but still needs me, eager to eat anything, particularly if it come off my plate.  Old enough to try everything on offer, as long as I watch the salt and sugar content.  I’m offering her cake and chocolate and sweet things so she knows what they are and sees them, hopefully as just part of her diet and nothing special. 

Our social life – well we are kept busy.  Made some new friends at classes we go to which is nice.  They are all lovely people with nice kids and similar outlooks as me.  No-one is competitive or high and mighty and we are all just a great support for each other.  Its good for Jess to see other babies on a regular basis too.  

Goodbyes – I said goodbye to Dundee and my life there a few weeks ago.  I think that deserves a reflective post all on its own. 🙂

I hope i’ve covered all the big things i had missed.  I’m sure there will be more ramblings to come soon.  

 

Leave a Reply

